The NSF NCAR Mesa Lab and the road to the Mesa Lab are closed until further notice due to a wildfire west of the campus.

 View more information.




To: UCAR Member Representatives

From: UCAR Members Nominating Committee

RE: 2020 Members Nominating Committee Report

The UCAR Members' Nominating Committee met in Boulder on July 8, 2020 to consider nominations for positions on the Board of Trustees and Member committees. The nominations from the Members' Representatives and other community members for Trustee and Member committee slates were collected and given to the Members Nominating Committee in advance of their meeting.  

The Nominating Committee considered all nominations and deliberated extensively to develop well-balanced groups of candidates for the Board of Trustees, the President’s Advisory Committee on University Relations (PACUR), and the Membership and Members Nominating Committees.   The Nominating Committee sought to retain important expertise and high-level experience while also promoting a Board and Committees that represent the diversity of disciplines, institutions, and identity characteristics of the overall UCAR Membership.

Respectfully submitted,

Yvette Richardson-Chair, Pennsylvania State University

Lourdes B. Aviles-Trustee Liaison, Plymouth State University

Teresa Bals-Elsholz, Valparaiso University

Cecilia Bitz, University of Washington

Carol Ann Clayson, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

Dan Cziczo, Purdue University

Robert Rauber, University of Illinois

Tiffany Shaw, University of Chicago

Sepi Yalda, Millersville University of Pennsylvania



UCAR Board of Trustees:

Personal Statements and biographical information for each candidate are provided at the links below.

Institutional Trustee: 3-year term

Of the six candidates, four are to be elected for a 3-year term

Shuyi Chen, University of Washington, CV

Sonia Lasher-Trapp, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, CV

Susan Lozier, Georgia Institute of Technology, CV

Greg McFarquhar, University of Oklahoma, CV

Dave Randall, Colorado State University, CV

Sandra Yuter, North Carolina State University, CV


Trustee-at-large: 3-year term

Trustees-at-large run unopposed, but must receive a majority of affirmative votes.

Patty Leslie, University of Colorado Foundation, CV

Rita Colwell, University of Maryland, University Park, CV

Members Committees:

Biographical information is provided at links below.

President's Advisory Committee on University Relations (PACUR):

PACUR Members are elected as a slate for a 3-year term

Michael Bell, Colorado State University

Rich Clark, Millersville University

Xian Lu, Clemson University

Membership Committee:

Membership Committee Members are elected as a slate for a 3-year term

Clark Evans, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee

Janel Hanrahan, Northern Vermont University

Kris Karnauskas, University of Colorado


Members Nominating Committee:

Of the five candidates, three are to be elected for a 3-year term

Belay Demoz, University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Redina Finch, Western Illinois University

Emily Fischer, Colorado State University

David Stensrud, Pennsylvania State University

Liming Zhou, University at Albany