The NSF NCAR Mesa Lab and the road to the Mesa Lab are closed until further notice due to a wildfire west of the campus.

 View more information.


September 13, 2019


To: UCAR Member Representatives

From: UCAR Members Nominating Committee

RE: 2019 Members Nominating Committee Report

The UCAR Members' Nominating Committee met in Boulder on June 13, 2019, to consider nominations for positions on the Board of Trustees and Member committees. The nominations from the Members' Representatives and other community members for Trustee and Member committee slates were collected and given to the Members Nominating Committee in advance of their meeting.  

The Nominating Committee considered all nominations and deliberated extensively to develop well-balanced groups of candidates for the Board of Trustees, the President’s Advisory Committee on University Relations (PACUR), and the Membership and Members Nominating Committees.   The Nominating Committee sought to retain important expertise and high-level experience while also promoting a Board and Committees that represent the diversity of disciplines, institutions, and identity characteristics of the overall UCAR Membership.

Respectfully submitted,

Yvette Richardson-Chair, Pennsylvania State University

Lourdes B. Aviles-Trustee Liaison, Plymouth State University

Teresa Bals-Elsholz, Valparaiso University

Cecilia Bitz, University of Washington

Carol Ann Clayson, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

Jeff Collett, Colorado State University

Noah Diffenbaugh, Stanford University

Keah Schuenemann, Metropolitan State University of Denver

Sepi Yalda, Millersville University of Pennsylvania


2019 Nominees:

UCAR Board of Trustees:

Personal Statements and biographical information for each candidate are provided at the links below.

Institutional Trustee: 3-year term

Susan Avery, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution, CV

Rana Fine, University of Miami, CV

Michael Freilich, Oregon State University, CV

Kathy Jacobs, University of Arizona, CV

Vernon Morris, Howard University, CV

Harlan Spence, University of New Hampshire, CV

Stephen G. Wells, New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology, CV

Trustee-at-large: 3-year term

James E. Geringer, Environmental Systems Research Institute, CV

Sherri Goodman, Woodrow Wilson International Center, CV

Members Committees:

Biographical information is provided at links below.

President's Advisory Committee on University Relations (PACUR):

PACUR Members are elected as a slate for a 3-year term

Suzana Camargo, Columbia University

Kevin Goebbert, Valparaiso University

Kirk Maasch, University of Maine

Nicole Molders, University of Alaska, Fairbanks

Kevin Reed, State University of New York, Stony Brook 

Walt Robinson, North Carolina State University

Elizabeth Walsh, San Jose State University

Allison Wing, Florida State University

Shang-Ping Xie, Scripps Institution of Oceanography

Membership Committee:

Membership Committee Members are elected as a slate for a 3-year term

Kelly Lombardo, Pennsylvania State University

Clint Rowe, University of Nebraska

Charles Stanier, University of Iowa

Kim Wood, Mississippi State University

Members Nominating Committee:

Of the six candidates, four are to be elected for a 3-year term

Dan Cziczo, Purdue University

Belay Demoz, University of Maryland, Baltimore

Jung-Eun Lee, Brown University

Robert Rauber, University of Illinois

Ramalingam Saravana, Texas A&M University

Tiffany Shaw, University of Chicago