UCAR Annual Meetings - 8 - 11 October 2007, Boulder, CO

Back to the Membership Committee Report

McGill University

McGill University has been a UCAR member since 1971. There are 21 faculty members in the Department of Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences (DAOS), which has  B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. programs of study. The department lists 15 undergraduate courses and more than 30 graduate courses in meteorology, oceanography, and related topics. Since 2001, the department has awarded 45 B.S. degrees, 39 M.S. degrees, and 18 Ph.D. degrees. The department recently initiated a joint Earth System Science Program with the Departments of Earth and Planetary Sciences and Geography.  The new joint program has hired six new faculty members and implemented a new B.S. program.  The department is also a member of the McGill School of the Environment (MSE), providing core courses and areas of concentration for MSE students.

The faculty members of DAOS are scientifically very active with more than 60 current research grants totaling more than $6 million. These projects range from atmospheric chemistry to earth system modeling, remote sensing, physical and dynamical oceanography, and other aspects of meteorology and climate. DAOS has access to state-of-the-art facilities at the Université du Québec á Montréal and the Environmental Canada supercomputing laboratory.  McGill University also operates the James Stewart Marshall Radar Observatory that facilitates cutting edge research in radar meteorology.

DAOS faculty members have been very involved in UCAR/NCAR activities. This includes representation on the UCAR membership committee, the COMET advisory panel, the NSF Observing Facilities advisory panel, and the External Advisory Committee for the Atmospheric Technology Division of NCAR. Many DAOS faculty members have collaborated with NCAR scientists and participated in UCAR/NCAR programs and field campaigns including GEWEX, AIRS 2, and COMET.

The UCAR Membership Committee concludes that the membership criteria are fulfilled, and recommends to the Members' Representatives that the membership of McGill University be continued as provided by the bylaws.