February 2001 Board of Trustees Meeting


Follow-up Information

  • Recent UCAR Awards

    Board Chairman Otis Brown started off the Board meeting by congratulating UCAR, NCAR and UOP on receiving a number of important awards in recent months, and suggested that these be communicated to all UCAR staff. He mentioned the following awards:

    • UCAR President and HAO Senior Scientist named Fellows of the AGU

      • "Richard A. Anthes - For innovative research in understanding and modeling tropical cyclones and for strong leadership in the Earth sciences."

      • "Arthur D. Richmond - For extraordinary contributions and commitment to basic understanding of upper atmospheric dynamics and electrodynamics."

    • Meisinger Award - Jim Hurrell (CGD) received the 2001 Clarence Leroy Meisinger Award, one of the highest honors granted by the AMS. The award is presented each year to a scientist whose research achievement "is at least in part aerological [pertaining to all levels of the atmosphere] in character and concerns the observation, theory, and modeling of atmospheric motion on all scales."

    • More AMS Awards

      • Rit Carbone, a senior scientist in MMM, accepted the Cleveland Abbe Award, given to an individual for distinguished service furthering the atmospheric sciences or their application to general, social, economic, or humanitarian welfare.

      • Another major honor, the Jule G. Charney Award, went to a UCAR staffer stationed at the Naval Research Laboratory, in a Navy-funded position supported through the Visiting Scientist Programs. Roger Daley holds the title of UCAR Distinguished Senior Scientist in VSP. The Charney Award is given for "highly significant research and development in data assimilation, modeling, and numerical weather prediction."

      • Rod Frehlich (RAP) received the Editor's Award for exceptional efforts as a scientific reviewer for the Journal of Applied Meteorology, one of nine AMS journals.

      • Also in Albuquerque, several staff members were recognized as new AMS Fellows. These include NCAR senior scientists Rick Katz (ESIG), Tom Wigley (CGD), and Jim Wilson (RAP), as well as the directors of two UCAR programs: Dave Fulker (Unidata) and Tim Spangler (Cooperative Program for Operational Meteorology, Education and Training).

    • Macelwane Medal from American Geophysical Union - Scott Doney, a chemical oceanographer at NCAR, was awarded the James B. Macelwane Medal at the fall meeting of the American Geophysical Union (AGU). The medal recognizes significant contributions to the geophysical sciences by a young scientist of outstanding ability.

    • HAO scientist honored for astrophysics thesis - A new technique for examining the solar chromosphere has gained Hector Socas-Navarro a prestigious award. The HAO associate scientist was recognized by the Spanish Astronomical Society (SEA) for producing the nation's best thesis in astrophysics during 199899.

PowerPoint Presentations

UCAR Board of Trustees Annual Meeting
21-22 February 2001

Meeting Home