UCAR Staff Notes masthead
Home Our Organization Research News Center Education Community Tools Libraries
About Staff Notes
Past Issues
Favorite Photos
How to Subscribe


staff notes header

February 2006

2006 AMS awards

A number of staffers have won awards and recognition from the American Meteorological Society (AMS) this year. They include:

Natalie Mahowald (CGD). Natalie won the Henry G. Houghton Award for her outstanding contributions to our understanding of the global distribution of the mineral aerosol and its thermodynamic and biogeochemical roles, and for developing accurate atmospheric circulation and chemistry models.

Liz Page (COMET). Liz was one of the winners of a special award for extensive and exceptional work over the years on the development, writing, implementation, and execution of the new standards for broadcasters through the AMS Certified Broadcast Meteorologist Program.

Tom Wigley (CGD). Tom won the Editor's Award for his work on the Journal of Climate. He was cited for his exceptionally constructive and insightful reviews that led to dramatic improvements in manuscripts.

Tom Windham. Tom, formerly with SOARS and now at NSF, won the Charles E. Anderson Award for his vision and determination to promote diversity, especially among students in the fields of atmospheric and related sciences through mentoring, research, and outreach.

In addition, five staffers were named AMS Fellows: Greg Byrd (COMET), Jim Dye (MMM), Jim Hurrell (CGD), Linda Mearns (ISSE), and Jerry Meehl (CGD).

Two staffers were named honorary AMS members: Chester Newton and Warren Washington, both of CGD.

Also in this issue...

Dialing in: staffers save gas, time by working from home

New Scientists I have diverse interests

UCAR takes avian flu precautions
Staying Healthy

Random Profile: Will Piper

2006 AMS awards

Delphi Question: Delphi confidentiality

Sunrise project

Just One Look


Staff Notes home page | News Center