UCAR > Communications > Staff Notes Monthly > July-August 2002 Search


July-Aug 2002

SOARS summer in portraits

The 24 protégés of the Significant Opportunities in Atmospheric Research and Science program on site this summer are winding up their stays in Boulder. Their findings will be presented at the SOARS Colloquium, a series of seminars taking place at the Mesa and Foothills Labs 5—7 August. Check the calendar section of This Week at UCAR for details on each talk. The schedule is also available on the SOARS Web site.

SOARS Protégé Theresa Jo Johnson and her science mentor, ACD's Beth Holland, examine plants in the phytotron. (Photo by Carlye Calvin.)

 

Protégé/Mentor Partnerships -- 2002

 

Protégé
Science Research Mentor
Writing and Communication  Mentor

Community Mentor
Shaan Bliss, ACD 
Ext. 1497, ML 580
bliss@ucar.edu
Alex Guenther, ACD 
Ext. 1447, ML
guenther@ucar.edu

Lee Klinger, ACD
Ext. 1474, ML
klinger@ucar.edu 

Sue Schauffler, ACD
Ext. 1459, ML
sues@ucar.edu

    
David Matthew Coleman
CIRES & NOAA
303-497-5571 (Office)
David Skaggs Research Center, Rm 2A212
mcoleman@al.noaa.gov

Interoffice Mail: 
NOAA Aeronomy Lab, R/AL3

US Mail:
NOAA Aeronomy Lab
325 S. Broadway, R/AL3
Boulder, CO  80305-3328
Peer Mentor: Maribel Martinez

Leslie Hartten, CIRES & NOAA
303-497-7052 (Office)
325 S. Broadway
DSRC, Rm 2A116
lhartten@al.noaa.gov

US Mail:
NOAA Aeronomy Lab
325 S. Broadway, R/AL3
Boulder, CO  80305-3328

Ż
Amy Stevermer, NOAA
303-497-6417 (Office)
325 S. Broadway
DSRC, Rm 2D139
Amy@srrb.noaa.gov
Jack Fellows, UOP
Ext. 8655, FL4
jfellows@ucar.edu
Pauline Datulayta, CGD
Ext. 1862
ML Library Carrel 13
datulayt@ucar.edu
Warren Washington, CGD
Ext. 1321, ML
wmw@ucar.edu
Zhenya Gallon, UCAR
Ext. 8607, FL4
zhenya@ucar.edu
    
Kate Dollen, MMM
Ext. 8174, FL3 2060
dollen@ucar.edu
Chris Davis, MMM
Ext. 8990, FL3 3022
cdavis@ucar.edu
Vicki Holzhauer, ESIG
Ext. 8118, FL1
vicki@ucar.edu
   
Atzel Drevon, CGD
Ext. 1440, ML  LC15
adrevon@cgd.ucar.edu
Peer Mentor: Shaan Bliss
David Schimel, CGD
Ext. 1610, ML
schimel@ucar.edu
Joanie Kleypas, CGD
Ext. 1316, ML
kleypas@ucar.edu
Bob Roesch, HR
Ext. 8704, FL2
broesch@ucar.edu

Katy Schmoll, DIR
Ext. 8570, FB
kschmoll@ucar.edu

Olusegun Goyea, ACD
Ext. 1481, ML 569
gbadebo@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor: Pauline Datulayta
Chris Cantrell, ACD
Ext. 1479, ML
cantrell@ucar.edu

Gavin Edwards, ACD
Ext. 1851, ML
gde@ucar.edu

Barry Lefer, ACD 
Ext. 1641, ML
lefer@ucar.edu
Jeff Weber, UNIDATA
Ext. 8676, FL4
jweber@ucar.edu
Theresa Johnson, ACD
Ext. 1497, ML 580
tjj2@ucar.edu
Beth Holland, ACD
Ext. 1433, ML
eholland@ucar.edu

Alex Guenther, ACD 
Ext. 1447, ML
guenther@ucar.edu

Dale Kellogg, DIR
Ext. 1112, ML
dkellogg@ucar.edu
    
Anthony Lebbie, CIRES
303-492-1143
University of Colorado
UCB 216
lebbiea@cires.colorado.edu
Peer Mentor: Casey Thornbrugh
Douglas Robertson, CIRES
303-492-3694 (Office)
University of Colorado
Ekeley, W245B
doug@cires.colorado.edu

Juliana Rew, SCD
Ext. 1830, ML
juliana@ucar.edu

Joseph VanAndel, ATD/RSF
Ext. 2071, FL1
vanandel@ucar.edu
Maribel Martinez, MMM
Ext. 8179, FL3 2058
maribelm@ucar.edu
Jay Miller, MMM
Ext. 8975, FL3
ljmill@ucar.edu
Vickie Johnson, COMET
Ext. 8361, FL3
vjohnson@ucar.edu
   
Ernesto MuŅoz-Acevedo,, ACD
Ext. 1852, ML 390
emunoz@ucar.edu

 Alan Fried, ACD
Ext. 1475, ML
fried@acd.ucar.edu

Brian Bevirt, SCD
Ext. 1249, ML 11C
brianb@ucar.edu
   
Fabiola Navarro, CIRES
303-492-1143
University of Colorado
UCB 216
navarrof@cires.colorado.edu
Susan Avery, CIRES
303-492-8773
University of Colorado
CIRES, 309
savery@cires.colorado.edu
Cindy Schmidt, CPT AF 
Ext. 2107, FL3

cschmidt@ucar.edu
   
Erik Noble, CGD
Ext. 1817
ML Library Carrel 14
noble@ucar.edu
Warren Washington, CGD
Ext. 1321, ML
wmw@ucar.edu
Wendy Abshire, COMET
Ext. 8477, FL3
abshire@ucar.edu
   
Shanna Pitter
305-361-4509
NOAA/AOML
Hurricane Research Division
4301 Rickenbacker Causeway
Miami, FL  33149-1097
Shanna.Pitter@noaa.gov

Frank Marks
NOAA/AOML
Hurricane Research Division
4301 Rickenbacker Causeway
Miami, FL  33149-1097
Frank.Marks@noaa.gov

Lee, Wen-Chau, ATD
Ext. 8814, FL1
wenchau@ucar.edu

Don Stott, JOSS
Ext. 8154, FL4
stott@joss.ucar.edu
   
Amber Reynolds, ACD
Ext. 1874, ML 569
aer149@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor: Erik Noble
Dan Marsh, ACD/ASP
Ext. 1566, FL2 3032
marsh@ucar.edu
Mary Barth, MMM/ACD
Ext. 8186, FL3
barthm@ucar.edu
Jennifer Mangan, DLESE/ASP
Ext. 2661, FL4
mangan@ucar.edu
Garymar De Rivera Rivera, INSTAAR
303-735-7804
1560 30th St.
Room 247, RL-3
grivera@colorado.edu
Peer Mentor: Fabiola Navarro
Detlev Helmig, INSTAAR
303-492-2509 (Office)
1560 30th St.
Campus Box 450
detlev@cires.colorado.edu
Pat Weis-Taylor, SOARS
303-545-2068
patw@colorado.edu
Luanna Sago, HR
Ext. 8715, FL2
lsago@ucar.edu 
Nancy Rivera Rivera, INSTAAR
303-735-5170
1560 30th St.
Room 272, RL-1
riveran@colorado.edu
Peer Mentor: Summer Sands
Detlev Helmig, INSTAAR
303-492-2509 (Office)
1560 30th St.
Campus Box 450
detlev@cires.colorado.edu
Pat Weis-Taylor, SOARS
303-545-2068
patw@colorado.edu

 

Tim Barnes
Ext. 1169, ML
tbarnes@ucar.edu
Summer Sands, ACD
Ext. 1874, ML 569
sands@ucar.edu
Sasha Madronich, ACD
Ext. 1430, ML
sasha@ucar.edu
Julia Lee-Taylor, ACD
Ext. 1489, ML

julial@ucar.edu
   
Tamara Singleton, ACD
Ext. 1413, ML 391
tamaras@ucar.edu
Bill Mankin, ACD
Ext. 1403, ML
mankin@ucar.edu
Diane Rabson, DIR
Ext. 8508, FL1 
rabson@ucar.edu
   
Sarah Tessendorf, MMM
Ext. 8178, FL3 2057
tessendo@ucar.edu
Charles Knight, MMM
Ext. 8940, FL3
knightc@ucar.edu
Joanne Dunnebecke, RAP
Ext. 8431, FL2
dunnebec@ucar.edu
   
Casey Thornbrugh, CIRES
303-492-3619
University of Colorado
Ekeley, S327
caseyt@cires.colorado.edu
Amanda Lynch, PAOS/CIRES
303-492-5847 (Office)
University of Colorado
Ekeley, S331
Campus Box 216
manda@cires.colorado.edu

Liz Cassano, PAOS/CIRES
303-735-5808  (Office)
University of Colorado
Campus Box 216
ecassano@cires.colorado.edu

Nancy Dawson, SOARS
303-494-2468
nad@ucar.edu
   

 

Rei Ueyama, ACD
Ext. 1419, ML 391
rei@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor: Tamara Singleton
Steven Massie, ACD
Ext. 1404, ML 364
massie@ucar.edu
David Hosansky, COMM
Ext. 8611, FL4
hosansky@ucar.edu
Susan Cross, SCD
Ext. 1133, ML
  susanc@ucar.edu
Segayle Walford, GSFC
301-614-6183 or 301-614-6129
NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center
Mail Code 913
Building 33/Room B320
Greenbelt, MD  20771
walford@climate.gsfc.nasa.gov

NOTE: For sending attachments please use - 
miss__piggy@hotmail.com

Yogesh Sud, GSFC
sud@climate.gsfc.nasa.gov

Bill Lau, GSFC
301-614-6185
lau@climate.gsfc.nasa.gov

Janine Goldstein, JOSS
Ext. 8691, FL4
janine@ucar.edu
   
Christina Webb, CGD
Ext. 1867, ML  LC11
cwebb@cgd.ucar.edu
Peer Mentor: Kate Dollen
David Schimel, CGD
Ext. 1610, ML
schimel@ucar.edu
Bob Henson, COMM
Ext. 8605, FL4
bhenson@ucar.edu
Jo Hansen, UNIDATA
Ext. 8644, FL4
jhansen@ucar.edu
Melanie Zauscher, ACD
Ext. 1878, ML 598
mzausche@ucar.edu
Peer Mentor: Ernesto Munoz
Frank Flocke, ACD
Ext. 1457, ML
ffl@ucar.edu

Andy Weinheimer, ACD
Ext. 1444, ML
wein@ucar.edu

Craig Stroud, ACD
Ext. 1449, ML
cstroud@ucar.edu

Terri Cantrell, HAO
Ext. 1538, FL2 3103
tcantrel@ucar.edu
Cindy Worster, HAO
Ext. 1552, FL2
cmw@ucar.edu

 


Summer Sands (right) and her research mentor, ACD‚s Sasha Madronich, talk about trends in photochemical smog in Mexico City. (Photos by Carlye Calvin.)


ACD's Alex Guenther (left) and protégé Shaan Bliss work with a portable gas chromatograph that can quantify biogenic volatile organic compounds.

Sarah Tessendorf discusses radar data from the Severe Thunderstorm Electrification and Precipitation Study with her science mentor, MMM's Charlie Knight.


In this issue... Other issues of Staff Notes Monthly
UCARNCARUOP

UCAR > Communications > Staff Notes Monthly > July-August 2002 Search

Edited by David Hosansky, hosansky@ucar.edu
Prepared for the Web by Carlye Calvin
Last revised: Mon Aug 19 17:08:40 MST 2001